Home > triathlon > Long road ahead…

Long road ahead…

That’s usually a nice thought in cycling. You can see all the cars ahead, and those behind can see you from way back, so no worries there. That’s nice and all.

The long road ahead of me right now though… well, it’s more daunting. I can see what’s ahead and I know what I need to get through. But it feels big at this point. My understanding – and hope – is that it gets easier and more enjoyable as I go along. That’s not to say I’m miserable right now; I’m enjoying this little trek. I just took too long away from this kin of stuff.

I went for a 35 mile ride yesterday. Not bad for not having ridden in a while. And I realize that. I’m just a little bummed that I’m not where I used to be. I know, it will come back. Especially since I plan to be training harder than I have before, as I had no real goals before, I just rode my bike when I felt like it. Having this goal will be helpful, and I’m excited about that.

I just have some work to do. I’m pretty confident that within a couple weeks I’ll have my cycling legs back. Hopefully soon after I’ll have my cycling weight back, and I think that alone will help immensely. It’s interesting how much of a difference an extra 30 pounds or so can make.

Today is the first day of my 12 weeks of training between now and the race. It will be time to really buckle down and get started actually training for this beast. Well – Monday will be anyway, Sundays will be rest days for me. Regardless, I’m excited to be starting down this road.

However long it may be.

Categories: triathlon Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

